Nominations Open for District 7, 8 Trustees

Benton REA Board District Map

Benton REA is governed by eight trustees who each represent a district of members. Trustees are elected by members to serve a three-year term.

In 2021, the incumbent Benton REA trustees whose terms expire are Connie Krull, District 7; and Catherine Russell, District 8.

Qualified members can be placed on the ballot as candidates for Benton REA trustee positions. Members interested in running for the board of trustees must call Executive Assistant Missy Jasso at 509-786-8260 by June 1.

Members who live in districts 7 and 8 will receive a ballot in August. Members may mail their ballot or bring their ballot to the Benton REA annual meeting. All ballots will be counted, and the election results will be announced at the annual meeting September 18, 2021.

To find out which trustee district you live in, contact Benton REA.

Candidate Qualifications

Background checks will be performed on all board of trustee candidates to ensure they meet the following qualifications:

  • Must be an individual who receives electrical service from Benton REA at their primary residence, which is within the trustee district up for election. If you are uncertain in which trustee district you live, call Benton REA at 509-786-2913.
  • Must have the capacity to enter legally binding contracts.
  • Must not have been convicted of a felony.
  • Is not an incumbent elected public official, or a candidate for an elective public office that is a paid, salaried position.
  • Has not been employed by Benton REA, or a subsidiary of the association, within the 10 years immediately prior to the end of the candidate solicitation period, or is not closer in consanguinity than the third degree or less to an incumbent trustee or to an employee of Benton REA.
  • Can fulfill any other reasonable qualifications, as determined by the board of trustees.

Recent Posts